# Managing clients (MSP)

Clients management is a powerful feature only available to customers enrolled in the MSP program which allows to:

- Register clients with their name and description.
- Grant read or write permissions to selected groups of domains.
- Add users to a client to allow them to sign in and view the dashboard.

<DocsInfoBlock title="Permissions">

- All team members with a role of **Member**, **Admin** or **Owner** can manage clients.
- Only **admins** or **owners** can invite or remove users.

</DocsInfoBlock>

## Creating a new client

To add a client to the dashboard:

- Navigate to the **Clients** tab.
- Click <DocsButton>Create client</DocsButton>.
- Enter the name of the client, which is usually the name of the company. Optionally, enter a description for the client. The description will not be visible to the client.
- Click <DocsButton>Create client</DocsButton> to confirm.

## Adding users

To add a user to a client:

- Navigate to the **Clients** tab.
- Locate the client of your interest in the page and in the users column click <DocsButton>Add user</DocsButton>.
- Choose whether you want to also allow write access to domains with the **Allow write access** checkbox.
- Enter the email address of the user and click <DocsButton>Add user</DocsButton>.

The user will receive a link to complete their new account setup by choosing a new password. Once done, it will have access to the domain groups you explicitly assigned to the client.

Clients cannot use SSO to sign in and therefore [SSO settings](/docs/organization/sso) like SSO enforcement don't apply to clients.

Monitor the **Clients** tab to know if a user has yet to complete their account setup. Hover over the **Pending** label and click <DocsButton>Resend setup email</DocsButton> if the user needs to receive the setup link again.

Use the dropdown menu to remove a user from the client (the user will be deleted permanently from the platform and therefore immediately lose access).

<DocsInfoBlock title="Allowing write access">

If you allow **write access** to a client user in addition to the default read access, the user will also have these **additional permissions** on domains they have access to:

- Adding, deleting and validating domains.
- Running diagnostics.
- Enabling and disabling hosted DMARC and hosted MTA-STS, and changing their settings.

Even with write access allowed, client users **don't have the following permissions**:

- Importing/exporting domains in bulk.
- Managing domain groups.
- Updating digest rules for other members.

</DocsInfoBlock>

## Granting access to domains

To grant access to a domain group to your clients:

- Navigate to the **Domains** tab.
- If you haven't done so already, create a new group and optionally add some domains to it. Read [Managing domains and groups](/docs/domains/domains-and-groups) to learn more about this.
- At the right of the name of the group, click the three dots button to open the dropdown menu and choose <DocsButton>Grant access</DocsButton> (or <DocsButton>Manage access</DocsButton>).
- In the dialog, choose which clients you want to grant access to this domain group to.
- Click <DocsButton>Update permissions</DocsButton> to confirm.

To see a recap of the permissions you granted to a specific client, navigate to the **Clients** tab.

Note that if you don't grant any permission to a client, the users belonging to that client won't be able to see anything in the dashboard.

You can assign multiple domain groups to a client, and also assign a domain group to multiple clients.

## Disabling a client

Sometimes you may need to disable access to a client without removing it from the dashboard.

To do so, follow these steps:

- Navigate to the **Clients** tab.
- Locate the client of your interest in the page and in the dropdown menu choose <DocsButton>Disable client</DocsButton>.
- Read carefully the consequences of disabling a client and click <DocsButton>Disable client</DocsButton> to confirm.

Follow the same procedure to re-enable the client.

You won't be able to add new users while the client is disabled.
